Team Mississippi Comes Up Short in 18th Governor’s Cup

Team Mississippi Comes Up Short in 18th Governor’s Cup

April 17, 2024

HOT SPRINGS VILLAGE, Ark. — Team Mississippi traveled to Hot Springs Village, Arkansas to defend their 2023 victory against Team Arkansas in the 18th playing of the Governor’s Cup.

Twenty of the best amateur players from each state, ranging from mid-am to super senior age divisions, teed it up en route to gaining possession of the Cup. Team Mississippi was led by Captain Ed Wall, his first captaincy in the Governor’s Cup.

Play began Saturday morning with four-ball matches. Quickly, Team Arkansas came out swinging, taking command of a 7-3 lead with five outright wins and two halved matches ahead of the afternoon foursomes.

Not slowing down a bit, Arkansas took six more matches in the alternate shot format thanks, in large part, to WAGR-ranked senior Wes McNulty and Golfweek-ranked ‘legend’ Bev Hargraves. Taking a 13-7 lead into Sunday’s singles matches, Team Arkansas needed just 7.5 points to capture the Cup.

Team Mississippi fought early as Corbin May fired the opening salvo, securing a point for Mississippi with a 4 & 3 win over Stafford Gray. Ken Peacock, Casey Ham, Monty Hilton, Kevin Bounds, Brice Wilkinson and Zach Smith all grabbed a point for the ‘Sip, but the deficit was too much for Mississippi to overcome.

Falling 11 to 9 in Sunday’s singles matches, Arkansas regained possession of the Governor’s Cup with a 24-15 victory.

The 19th Governor’s Cup will take place in 2025, as part of the Mississippi Golf Association’s centennial year. A venue for the event has not yet been decided.

Full leaderboard & match results for the 18th Governor’s Cup can be seen here.