2021 State Amateur Championship



2021 State Amateur Championship
Presented by A2Z Printing
Mossy Oak Golf Club
West Point, MS

June 24-27, 2021



Presenting Title Sponsor

The MGA is excited to announce that A2Z Printing will be the presenting title sponsor of the Mississippi Amateur Championship through 2022. The MGA is extremely thankful for A2Z Printing's support of the most prestigous amateur championship on our schedule and looks forward to working closely with them as we strive to administer and conduct the most professional and enjoyable championship events that we possibly can. 


Championship Week Schedule

June 23 - Practice Round and Registration (Please call Mossy Oak Golf Club to reserve a practice round (662) 524-1000
June 24 - Round 1
June 25 - Round 2
June 26 - Round 3 (field cut to low 60 and ties after 36 holes)
June 27 - Round 4, Awards Presentation Immediately Following Play

* The Practice Round Date is set for Wednesday, June 23rd. The rate that day will be $50 cart/tax included. Players that wish to play multiple practice rounds or on a different day may do so at the normal Mossy Oak Golf Club Green Fee Rate and are subject to availability by Mossy Oak Golf Club.


All Players: $275 ($285 for credit or debit)

Entry Form

Online Registration

Registration Deadline

Exempt Players - Wednesday, June 2 at 12:00PM

Non-Exempt Players - Wednesday, June 9 at 5:00PM

* Please note that following the Exempt Player Deadline any Non-Exempt Players on the Waiting List will be used to fill those spots in the Championship.

Format and Eligibility

The State Amateur Championship is scheduled for 72 holes of individual stroke play with a cut to the low 60 plus ties after 36 holes of play. Field size is limited to 120 players. 

Competitors are required to have an active GHIN Handicap through a USGA Licensed Mississippi Club. Competitors must be bona fide residents of Mississippi for at least 60 days prior to the first round of the Championship. All must conform with the USGA Rules of Amateur Status.

Exempt Player List

2021 State Amateur Player Exempt List

Please note all exempt players will have a spot held for them to register. The deadline for Exempt Player Entry is June 2, 2021 at which time those spots will be opened for entries.


Past Amateur Champions:  Charles Rea, Ed Meeks, Mike Taylor, Joe Lupe Jr., Johnny Lang, David Allen, Lan Gooch, Ken Graeber, Watt Whatley, Benji Nelson, David Coleman, Gary Martin, Lane Pippin, Rett Crowder, Michael Stringer, Trey Denton, Fletcher Johnson, Steve Wilson, Nick Beale, Wilson Furr, Clay Homan, Ross Bell, Joe Deraney, Isaiah Jackson

2020 Top 25 & Ties: Isaiah Jackson, Wilson Furr, Joe Deraney, Joel Myrick, C.J. Easley, Cecil Wegener, Charlie Miller, Trey Denton, Ben Nelson, Hunter Logan, Michael Hammett, Jackson Wedgeworth, Ben Snow, Cameron Clarke, Cameron Mobley, Hunter Hammett, Brice Wilkinson, Josh Summerhill, Jack Gnam, Eli Mitchell, Brad Thornton, Carter Nicholson, Shane Humpheries, Colby Blake, Luke Brown, Neil Trimm

2020 Player of the Year Top 30: Joespeh Deraney, Trey Denton, Neil Trimm, Cameron Clarke, Isaiah Jackson, Ed Wall, Ben Snow, Wilson Furr, Eddie Brescher, Michael Hammett, Ben Nelson, Hunter Logan, Tim Roop, Joel Myrick, Scott Milam, Tucker Jenkins, Cecil Wegener, Doug Garner, Monty Hilton, C.J. Easley, Ethan Smith, Stephen Yelverton, Tracey Cockerham, Ham Bates, Zach Smith, Cameron Mobley, Ricky Sims, Josh Martin, Hunter Hammett, Richard Reed

2020 Top 5 Senior Am: Michael Hammett, Guion Gee, David Sellers, Monty Hilton, Robert Sanford

2020 Top 5 Senior Player of the Year: Michael Hammett, David Sellers, Robert Sanford, Guion Gee, Tim Roop

2020 Top 5 Junior Amateur: David Beard III, Chase Kaiser, Cameron Guidry, Eli Mitchell, Brady Lagendyk, Raines Walker

2020 Junior Player of the Year: Will Burnham

2020 Senior Fourball Champions: Robert Sanford, David Allen

2020 Men's Fourball Champions: Ed Wall, Neil Trimm

Host Hotel

Hotel Accommodations

Old Waverly Lodging


Condos, Cottages, & Villas Available, deadline to book is June 2nd

For Questions or to Book Reservations contact

Old Waverly Lodging email lodge@oldwaverly.com or Phone # 662-495-5485


Group Name: Mississippi Golf Association Men’s State Am


Hampton Inn @ West Point

Group Name: Mississippi Golf Association

Room Rate: $115 per night for King or Queen Double available, deadline for group rate June 9th

For Questions or to Book Reservations contact

Hampton Inn @ West Point

Email: hamptonwestpoint@hotmail.com

Phone # 662-494-7802





Exemption for Sanderson Farms Championship

Introduced in 2017, the winner of the State Amateur Championship will secure a spot in the field of the 2019 Sanderson Farms Championship. “This is an exciting development for our state’s amateurs to be able to compete for the chance of playing in a PGA TOUR event,” said Joe F. Sanderson, Jr., CEO and Chairman of the Board of Sanderson Farms.

“We are thrilled to provide an opportunity for the State Amateur champion to join the Sanderson Farms Championship field and support the Mississippi Golf Association at the same time,” said Steve Jent, executive director of the Sanderson Farms Championship. “This will provide a new level of excitement for the State Am participants to know they have a shot at representing Mississippi while playing alongside the world’s best golfers.”

“Our membership believes it’s very important to promote golf in Mississippi, and one of the best ways to do that is give the top state amateurs the incentive to qualify for the premier golfing event in Mississippi, the Sanderson Farms Championship.” Margo Coleman, executive director of the Mississippi Golf Association, agreed. “We are thrilled to partner with the largest professional sporting event in Mississippi in order to promote the game of golf throughout our state,” she said.

State Amateur Champion, Wilson Furr, of Jackson won the 2018 State Amateur at The Preserve Golf Club. Furr was the second to earn this exemption into the Sanderson Farms Championship at Country Club of Jackson, October 25-28. Furr won the State Amateur at 12-under total - Round 1 (68), Round 2 (69), Round 3 (66), Round 4 (69), the course was played as a par 71.


State Amateur Trophies Awarded

Spec Wilson Memorial Trophy

The Spec Wilson Memorial Trophy is awarded to the Champion of the Mississippi State Amateur. To view past champions, click here.

Charles Green Team Trophy

The Charles Green Team Trophy is awarded to the member club whose members' combined lowest two 36 hole scores for the first two rounds. To view past champions, click here.

Mike Magee Memorial Medalist Trophy

The Mike Magee Medalist Trophy is awarded to the player with the lowest score in the first round of the state amateur championship. To view past champions, click here.

Refund Policy

If a player withdraws prior to the entry deadline he will receive a full refund, minus a $25 administration fee deducted from the entry fee amount (not including processing fee). If a player withdraws after the entry deadline has passed, the player will not receive a refund.

Mysneakers | Air Jordan