State Amateur Championship



The Preserve Golf Club
Vancleave, Mississippi

June 21 - 24


2018 State Amateur Qualifying

June 9 - Country Club of Oxford - Oxford

June 10 - Castlewoods Country Club - Brandon

June 12 - Damondhead Country Club - Diamondhead

June 18 - The Preserve Golf Club (Open Qualifier) - Vancleave

Championship Week Schedule

June 20 - Practice Round

June 21 - Round 1

June 22 - Round 2

June 23 - Round 3 (field cut to low 60 and ties after 36 holes)

June 24 - Round 4, Awards Presentation Immediately Following Play


Entry Fee: $275 ($285 credit or debit)

Qualifier Fee: $150 ($156 credit or debit)

Open Qualifier: $200 ($214 credit of debit)

Remaining Balance for Qualifiers: $125 ($130 credit or debit)

Fees include cart and greens fees for entrants.

Registration Deadline

Exempt Players - Thursday, June 7, at 12 pm noon

Qualifier - Thursday, June 7, at 12 pm noon

Open Qualifier - Friday, June 15, at 12 pm noon

Qualified Participants Balance - Friday, June 15, at 12 pm noon


Format and Eligibility

The State Amateur Championship is scheduled for 72 holes of individual stroke play with a cut to the low 60 plus ties after 36 holes of play. Field size is limited to 120 players. Qualifiers will be held across the state including an Open Qualifier during the week of the Championship.

Each qualifier is scheduled for 18 holes of individual stroke play. The number of players to advance will be determined by the number of entries for each qualifier and the number available in the field after the exempt players have reserved their place. The same percentage from each qualifier will advance to the Championship proper. Participants may have a caddie during both the Amateur Championship and qualifying. A cart is reserved for the player only and is included in your entry fee.

Competitors are required to have an active GHIN Handicap through a USGA Licensed Mississippi Club. Competitors must be bona fide residents of Mississippi for at least 60 days prior to the first round of the Championship. All must conform with the USGA Rules of Amateur Status.

Practice Round

Please contact The Preserve Golf Club to reserve a practice round - 228-386-2500

Exemption for Sanderson Farms Championship

Introduced in 2017, the winner of the State Amateur Championship will secure a spot in the field of the 2018 Sanderson Farms Championship. “This is an exciting development for our state’s amateurs to be able to compete for the chance of playing in a PGA TOUR event,” said Joe F. Sanderson, Jr., CEO and Chairman of the Board of Sanderson Farms. “We are thrilled to provide an opportunity for the State Amateur champion to join the Sanderson Farms Championship field and support the Mississippi Golf Association at the same time,” said Steve Jent, executive director of the Sanderson Farms Championship. “This will provide a new level of excitement for the State Am participants to know they have a shot at representing Mississippi while playing alongside the world’s best golfers.” “Our membership believes it’s very important to promote golf in Mississippi, and one of the best ways to do that is give the top state amateurs the incentive to qualify for the premier golfing event in Mississippi, the Sanderson Farms Championship.” Margo Coleman, executive director of the Mississippi Golf Association, agreed. “We are thrilled to partner with the largest professional sporting event in Mississippi in order to promote the game of golf throughout our state,” she said.


State Amateur Exemptions

State Amateur Past Champions
Previous year's Junior Player of the Year
Top 25 finishers in previous years Amateur
Top 5 in previous year's Senior Point Standings
Top 30 in previous years point standings                        
Top 5 finishers in previous year's Senior Amateur                
Top 10 finishers in Mid Amatuer (not other wise exempt)
Top 5 in previous year Junior Amateur   
2018 Governor's Cup team members                      
Winning team of the Current Year State Four-Ball
Winning team of the current Year Bill Cass Senior Four-Ball


Refund Policy

If a player withdraws prior to the entry deadline he will receive a full refund, minus a $25 administration fee deducted from the entry fee amount not including processing fee). If a player withdraws after the entry deadline has passed, the player will not receive a refund.

Spec Wilson Memorial Trophy

The Spec Wilson Memorial Trophy is awarded to the Champion of the State Amateur Trophy.

Charles Green Team Trophy

The Charles Green Team Trophy is awarded to the member club whose members' combined lowest two 36 hole scores for the first two rounds. To view past champions, click here.

Mike Magee Memorial Medalist Trophy

The Mike Magee medalist trophy is awarded to the player with the lowest score in the first round of the state amateur championship. To view past champions, click here.