2012 Rules of the Week Archive

The Mississippi Golf Association sends an email on the Monday of every week with a Rules question. On the following Monday the answer to the past week is given and a new question is asked. In case you would like to review past questions, questions and answers will be posted here on the website. Hopefully this will help you prepare for your upcoming tournament season! Best of luck!

 

If you are an MGA member and are interested in receiving this email, please send your request to missgolf@missgolf.org. We would be happy to add you to the recipient list.


December 31, 2012

In stroke play, a player lifts his ball without authority, substitutes a new ball on the original spot to aid identification, and plays it. What is the ruling?

 

A) There is a one stroke penalty for lifting the ball in play without authority and an additional penalty of two strokes for improper substitution.

B) There is a two strokes penalty for improper substitution; there is no additional penalty for lifting the ball without authority.

C) There is a one stroke penalty for lifting the ball in play without authority and an additional two stroke penalty for playing the wrong ball.


December 24, 2013

In which one of the following does the player incur the general penalty under Rule 16-1:

 

A) A competitor's ball struck the rim of a hole-liner, which had not been sunk deep enough, and bounced out of the hole.  The player considered the ball holed, lifted it from the putting green surface and continued, playing from the next tee.

B) A player removes dew from his line of putt, by brushing it away with his towel. (correct answer)

C) A player touches the inside of the hole in repairing a ball mark from a ball that as embedded in the side of the hole.

D) A player removes the loose soil of an ant hill from his line of putt, by brushing it aside with a towel.


December 17, 2012

Which of the following statements is TRUE?

 

A) The Committee may authorize a stroke-play competition with two stipulated rounds of 9 holes each. (correct answer)

B) Four players in a stroke-play competition inadvertently played three holes out of sequence.  They record the scores correctly by hole number.  These scores are acceptable.

C) In a 36-hole match a player who started with 14 clubs is prohibited from changing putters after completion of the first 18 holes and before the start of the second 18 holes

D) A 54-hole stroke play competition is scheduled over three consecutive days.  Eighteen holes are to be played each day.  On the third (last) day, all competitors finish the first nine holes but a number of competitors are still playing the second nine holes.  At that point, the course becomes unplayable due to heavy rain and it is impossible to resume play that day.  The Committee has the authority to reduce the number of holes in the third round to nine holes and declare a winner based on 45 holes. 


December 10, 2012

In match play, B, who is away, removes the flagstick, places it on the putting green behind the hole, and putts.  A, believing that B's ball will strike the flagstick, picks up the flagstick, allowing B's ball to roll beyond where the flagstick had been placed.  Which of the following is the correct ruling?

 

A) Neither A nor B incur a penalty. (correct answer)

B) A incurs a one-stroke penalty.

C) B loses the hole.

D) A loses the hole.


December 3, 2012

A player's tee shot sails off the line towards the rough and a pump station.  Thinking he may not be able to find the ball, the player properly announces and plays a provisional ball.  When he arrives in the area to search for his ball, he cannot find it and is virtually certain the original ball is in the pump station.  Which one of the following is true.

 

A) The player must proceed with the provisional ball and incur the penalty of stroke and distance

B) The player must proceed under one of the three options outlined in Rule 28 (Ball Unplayable)

C) The player may proceed without penalty, and drop a ball behind the pump station, keeping the point where the ball last crossed the outermost limits of the pump station between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped with no limit to how far behind the pump house the ball may be dropped. (correct answer)

D) The player may proceed without penalty, and drop a ball behind the pump station, keeping the point where the ball last crossed the outermost limits of the pump station between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped with no limit to how far behind the pump house the ball may be dropped.


November 26, 2012

On a calm day, a player addressed his ball in play.  After he started the downswing for the stroke, the ball moved.  He struck the ball while it was moving.  What is the ruling?

 

A) He incurs the general penalty and in stroke play must play the ball as it lies

B) He incurs a one-stroke penalty and must play the ball as it lies. (correct answer)

C) He incurs a one-stroke penalty and must replace the ball.

D) He incurs no penalty and must play the ball as it lies.


November 19, 2012

The player must re-drop in each of the situations below EXCEPT which one?  A dropped ball rolls

 

A) onto and comes to rest on a putting green when relief was properly taken under Rule 26-1c for a ball last crossing the margin of a lateral water hazard nearer the putting green.

B) out of and comes to rest outside a hazard when relief was taken under Rule 25 (Abnormal Ground Conditions) for interference from casual water in a bunker.

C) to and comes to rest in a position where there is interference for the player's stance by the cart path from which relief was initially taken under Rule 24 (Obstructions) because the ball was lying on the path.

D) and comes to rest in the same location where it was deemed unplayable and relief was taken under Rule 28c (Ball Unplayable) (correct answer)


November 12, 2012

Which one of the following statements is TRUE with respect to out of bounds?

 

A) An out of bounds line extends vertically upwards, but not downwards

B) When a boundary is defined by a wall, by definition the inside face of the wall serves as the boundary line.

C) When out of bounds is defined by a line on the ground, the line itself is out of bounds (correct answer)

D) When out of bounds is defined by reference to stakes, the out of bounds line is determined by the outside points of the stakes at ground level.


November 5, 2012

A competitor is NOT disqualified from the competition in which one of the following situations?

 

A) After qualifying for the match-play portion of his club championship in a 18-hole stroke play round, the player tees off the next day in his first round match.  When he was playing the 2nd hole of his match, the Committee found out that during the stroke play qualifying round he had taken relief from a cart path and dropped the ball two club-lengths from the nearest point of relief on the advice of a fellow-competitor.  Unbeknownst to the player, he had played from a wrong place and failed to include the two-stroke penalty on the score card he returned. (correct answer)

B) Two weeks after a competitor had been awarded the 1st place trophy in the 36-hole clubchampionship, it is discovered that he and a fellow-competitor had agreed to use the distance measuring devices because they disagreed with the Committee's failure to implement the Local Rule permitting use of such service.

C) The competitor purposely records a 10 handicap on his score card when he knows his handicap is 7.  The card is returned.  He finishes in third place in the net event.  Four months later, the Committee learns the circumstances of the event.

D) The competitor damages his putter other than in the course of play (bent the shaft over his knee) and then tapped in a short putt with the damaged club.  The Committee becomes aware of the incident before he completes that round.  


October 29, 2012

A competitor finds a stray ball in a bad lie, which he mistakenly thinks is his.  He deems it unplayable and decides to adopt the procedure in Rule 28a.  He drops and plays the stray ball under Rule 28a.  The competitor then finds his original ball in a playable position within five minutes of having begun to search for it, In this case:

 

A) the stroke made at the stray ball is canceled and, because the competitor found his original ball within five minutes of having begun search for it, he must continue play of the hole with the original ball and without penalty (no penalty strokes)

B) the original ball is lost and the stray ball is in play under penalty of stroke and distance (one penalty stroke total). (correct answer)

C) when the competitor made a stroke at the stray ball, it was a stroke made at a wrong ball.  The competitor is penalized two strokes for a breach of Rule 15-3 and must continue play of the hole with his original ball (two penalty strokes total)

D) when the competitor made a stroke at the stray ball, it was a stroke at an improperly substituted ball.  The competitor is penalized two strokes for a breach of Rule 15-2.  Because he put the stray ball into play under the stroke-and-distance penalty, he must continue play of a hole.


October 22, 2012

In a match, a player's ball is in a hazard.  He moves a loose impediment that lies outside the hazard but is within one club-length of the ball.  Before he makes a stroke at the ball, it moves, although he did nothing to cause the ball to move.  Subsequently, he plays the ball from its new position.  What penalty, if any does the player incur?

 

A) No penalty

B) One-stroke penalty

C) Two-stroke penalty

D) Loss of hole penalty


October 15, 2012

In stroke play, in which one of the following situations should the Committee cancel the round?

 

A) Some competitors begin a round under extremely windy and rainy conditions.  The wind worsens and further play that day is impossible.  Play is suspended with only 45 of the 156 competitors starting their rounds and still on the course (111 players have not started).  The weather forecast is for perfect weather the next day. (correct answer)

B) Play is delayed due to fog and when play begins, there is a light rain that continues throughout the days.  Play is suspended for darkness with 36 of 156 players still on course, after 120 players have finished their rounds

C) A boundary line has been altered through unauthorized removal of a boundary stake, and therefore there is an area  (Area X) which is in bounds if the removed stake is disregarded and out of bounds if the removed stake is replaced.  After completion of the first round, the Committee became aware that one competitor's ball came to rest in Area X and in ignorance of the fact that the stake has been removed, played the ball from Area X.  That competitor was second to last in the standings following that round.

D) After several groups have played a particular par-5 hole, a group arrives at the teeing ground of that hole and the teeing ground has become completely covered with casual water ( leaking sprinkler head).  Removal of the casual water is impossible, so a Committee member relocates the teeing ground, without giving any competitor an undue advantage or disadvantage

 


October 8, 2012

A player is entitled to relief without penalty under Rule 25 from.

 

A) a tree stump

B) a temporary accumulation of water that is visible on the putting green, only when the player walks beside his line of putt

C) soft, mushy earth

D) overflow from a water hazard which is outside the margin of the hazard (correct answer)

 


October 1, 2012

In a single match, A deems his ball unplayable, lifts it, and then discovers that it was ground under repair.  After his opponent (B) makes his next stroke and before putting a ball into play under Rule 28, A decides to proceed under the ground under repair Rule 25-1b, in a spot that also satisfies the requirements of Rule 28a.  A goes on to win the hole scoring 4 to B's 5.  Before A plays from the next teeing ground, B makes a claim regarding A's declaring his ball unplayable and subsequently proceeding under the ground under repair Rule.  The Committee should rule that.

 

A) the hole stands as played, A wins the hole (correct answer)

B) B's claim is upheld, but because the location of A's dropped ball satisfied the requirements of both Rules, he must add a penalty stroke to his score for the unplayable ball, resulting in the hole being halved

C) B wins the hole

D) A is disqualified from the competition

 


September 24, 2012

A competitor incurs the general penalty when, during a stipulated round, he

 

A) assists a fellow competitor with the relief procedure from a lateral water hazard.

B) changes caddies briefly for the purpose of receiving advice from the new caddie (correct answer)

C) between holes, he uses his cell phone to check his business voice mail

D) asks a fellow-competitor whether a 150-yard marker is accurate

 


September 17, 2012

Following his tee shot, the player's ball came to rest under the lip in the back of a bunker.  There was not place in the bunker where the ball could be dropped that was not nearer the whole than where the ball lay.  The player deemed his ball unplayable, accepted the ones-stroke penalty and dropped a ball behind the bunker.  At this point in time, to avoid further penalty, the player MUST

 

A) lift the dropped ball and make his next stroke from within the teeing ground ( point where previous stroke was made) (correct answer)

B) lift the dropped ball and place the original ball in the bunker on the spot where it originally lay.

C) lift the dropped ball and drop a ball in the bunker within two club-lengths of the spot where the original ball lay (which would be nearer the hole than where the ball orginally lay)

D) play the dropped ball as it lies.

 


September 10, 2012

Which one of the following statements is TRUE in regards to an embedded ball?

A) A player's ball lands in a closely mown area through the green and bounces out of its own pitch-mark and into another, old pitch-mark.  The ball may be lifted, cleaned and dropped, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where it lay in the old pitch-mark but not nearer the hole.

B) A player believes his ball may be embedded in its own pitch-mark on a fairway.  He may lift the ball to determine whether it is embedded (correct answer)

C) A player's ball lies on a steep bank in the fairway.  He plays a stroke and drives the ball straight into the bank, the ball was never airborne.  The player is entitled to relief without penalty for an embedded ball.

D) A player takes relief from an immovable obstruction and drops the ball on the fairway.  The ball embeds on impact.  The player is NOT entitled to relief without penalty for an embedded ball.

 


September 3, 2012

The competitor's tee shot comes to rest just within the margins of a lateral water hazard but not in the water.  The competitor makes a stroke at the ball and it dribbles down the bank into the water and cannot be played.  He drops another ball on the bank within the later water hazard as near as possible to the spot where the original ball was last played.  He decides to not play again from that lie and drops a different ball within two club-lengths of and not nearer the hole than the spot where his original ball last crossed the margin of the later water hazard.  He plays on from there.  For this series of events, how many penalty strokes has the competitor incurred?

 

A) 1

B) 2 (correct answer)

C) 3

D) 4

 


August 27, 2012

Which one of the following results in a two-stroke penalty for the Competitor A? 

 

A) On the second putting green, A realizes one of the 14 clubs in his bag which he has not used is non-conforming (bent shaft)

B) On the 5th tee, A realizes he started the round with 15 clubs in his bag

C) On the 8th hole, A inadvertently uses B's wedge to make a stroke from the fairway onto the putting green. (correct answer)

D) A purposely breaks his putter over his knee after missing a short putt on the 12 hole and tosses it into the lake.

 


August 20, 2012

Which one of the following rulings must be made in accordance with equity?

 

A) Two fellow- competitors aren't sure how to proceed when a ball is moved by and outside agency (fox)

B) A ball is not found but it is virtually certain the ball is in either a water hazard or casual water overflowing the hazard.  The competitor's discuss whether the player is entitled to relief without penalty under Rule 25-1b (Abnormal Ground Condition; Relief) or must add a one stroke penalty and proceed under Rule 26-1 (Relief for ball in Water Hazard).  The issue is not covered by the Rules. (correct answer)

C) A competitor was asked to move his ball-marker on the putting green, one putter-head length to the side.  He forgot to move it back before putting his ball into the hole.  He and his fellow-competitors agree that the two stroke penalty is too severe in this case.

D) A competitor's ball comes to rest in a water hazard that is dry.  There are large stones embedded near the player's ball that may damage the player's club or cause injury when he makes as stroke at the ball.  He asks a referee if he may probe the area with a tee peg to determine where stones are located.

 


August 13, 2012

Which of the following is a hole made by a greenkeeper within the meaning of the term Rules of Golf?

 

A) A rut made by a greenskeeper's tractor or maintenance vehicle.

B) A hole left by a removed water hazard stake. (correct answer)

C) Cracks in the earth which occur in hot and dry conditions.

D) An aeration hole.

 


August 6, 2012

On the 13th hole, a player makes his first stroke from within the teeing ground and the ball comes to rest in a water hazard.  After surveying the situation the player decides to proceed under Rule 26-1a.  He returns to the tee and by mistake the player tees a ball in front of the tee-markers( outside teeing ground), plays from there and that ball comes to rest in the middle of the fairway.  The player takes three more strokes to hole out.  What is the player's score for the 13th hole?

 

A) 6

B) 7

C) 8 (correct answer)

D) If the mistake is not corrected before he makes a stroke on the next tee, the player is disqualified

 


July 30, 2012

In which one of the following situations does A incur the general penalty?

 

A) A's approach shot strikes the flagstick that is lying on the ground because the preceding group had neglected to replace it in the hole.

B) A's ball is deflected by his partner when the partner attended the flagstick without A's knowledge or authority. (correct answer)

C) A holds the flagstick directly above the hole while his partner plays from a deep greenside bunker

D) A, while attending the flagstick for his fellow-competitor (B), is unable to remove the flagstick from the hole because it is stuck in the socket and B's Ball strikes the flagstick  

 


July 23, 2012

In stroke play, a competitor's ball lies in a sandy area through the green.  There is a mound of sand behind the ball.  The competitor grounds his club lightly and in doing so he pressed down the mound of sand, improving his lie.  The correct ruling is that the competitor incurs

 

A) no penalty, and he must play the ball as it lies (correct answer)

B) no penalty, provided the mound of sand is restored prior to the stroke

C) a two-stroke penalty, and he must play the ball as it lies.

D) a two-stroke penalty, and he must restore the mound of sand before making the stroke

 


July 16, 2012

In stroke play, a competitor's ball came to rest in a deeply rutted area that was not marked as ground under repair.  Without announcing his decision to invoke Rule 3-3 or the ball with which he would score if the Rules permitted, the competitor dropped and played a second ball in accordance with Rule 25-1b.  The competitor then played the original ball as it lay and completed lay of the hole with both balls, scoring 4 with original and 5 with the dropped ball.  The competitor returned his score card to the Committee with a score of 4 on the hole in question and failed to report the facts to the Committee.  What is the ruling?

 

A) The dropped ball was "in play" and the player scored 5 on the hole.  The Committee must correct the competitor's score.

B) The score with the original ball counts and the score of 4 stands

C) The competitor's score was 4 with his original ball, plus two penalty strokes for a 6 on the hole.  The Committee must correct the competitor's score by adding two penalty strokes to his score

D) The competitor is disqualified. (correct answer)

 


July 9, 2012

A live butterfly is crawling on a player's ball which is lying in a bunker.  Which of the following is TRUE?  Without penalty, the player may

 

A) Mark the position of and lift his ball, to encourage the butterfly to fly away

B) Wave his hand, club or towel to encourage the butterfly to fly away. (correct answer)

C) NOT touch the butterfly or ball, and may NOT do anything to encourage the butterfly to move.

D) Touch and physically remove the butterfly from the ball.

 


July 2, 2012

A stroke play club championship was scheduled over three consecutive days.  The Committee has not provided in the conditions of the competition any special provisions regarding practice.  On the evening after the second round, a competitor played three holes at the club on the competition course with his daughter.  Which of the following is true?

 

A) The competitor is disqualified from the club championship. (correct answer)

B) The competitor incurs a two-stroke penalty, applied to the first hole score of his third round.

C) The competitor incurs a penalty of six strokes, applied to the first hole score of his third-round score

D) The competitor incurs no penalty

 


June 25, 2012

Which of the following is TRUE with regard to the nearest point of relief.

 

A) To determine this point, the player MUST follow a specific procedure, i.e., use the club with which he would have made his next stroke if the condition were not there to simulate the address position, direction of play and swing for such a stroke.

B) It is a point not nearer the hole than the ball's original location, where if the ball were so positioned, no interference (as defined) would exist. (correct answer)

C) While determining this point, the location of the ball's original position must be marked

D) It is a point not nearer the hole and nearest to the ball's original location, where if the ball were so positioned, the player would have a playable lie.

 


June 18, 2012

In stroke play, the competitor's ball comes to rest against a rake in a greenside bunker that transitions into a lateral water hazard.  He marks the position of the ball, removes the rake, and the ball rolls into deep water in the lateral water hazard and cannot be retrieved.  The proper procedure for the player in this situation is to.

 

A) replace the ball on the spot where the original ball lay, no penalty (correct answer)

B) place a ball as near as possible to where the original ball lay, one penalty stroke

C) drop a ball within two-club lengths of where the ball last crossed the margin of the lateral water hazard, one penalty stroke

D) drop a ball as near as possible to where the original ball lay, two penalty strokes

 


June 11, 2012

Which one of the following is a "ball in play"?

 

A) A ball that has been addressed on the teeing ground before the first stroke with that ball

B) A ball that has been holed

C) A ball that has been dropped (through the green) under penalty (correct answer)

D) A ball that has been lifted from the putting green

 


June 4, 2012

On the fourth hole of a match between A and B, both player's hit their approach shots into the water hazard and then agree to consider the hole halved and proceed to the fifth tee.  What is the ruling?

 

A) The players should be disqualified for agreeing to waive the Rules

B) There is no penalty; such an agreement is permissible (correct answer)

C) There is no penalty provided they resume play of the fourth hole before either plays from the fifth teeing ground; otherwise they should be disqualified

D) One player must concede the fourth hole to the other player before either plays from the teeing ground of the fifth hole; otherwise they should be disqualified.

 


May 28, 2012

With respect to Rule 27-2a, a provisional ball may NOT be played after the player

 

A) has walked forward of the general area from where he last played to search for his original ball. (correct answer)

B) played his original ball towards a water hazard that is surrounded by deep rough and woods.

C) played the original ball into an area where the ball may be unplayable or lost outside a water hazard.

D) goes forward 20 yards to retrieve a different club from his bag.

 


May 21, 2012

A player will incur the general penalty for which one of the following?

 

A) A large branch has broken off and fallen from a tree.  The player's ball is through the green and the branch interferes with his swing.  He breaks off the interfering part of the branch and makes his next stroke unimpeded by any part of the branch.

B) The player uses his pitch-mark repair tool to pry out an acorn, that had been stepped on and was buried, from his line of putt.  He does NOT repair the hole left by the acorn before making his next stroke. (correct answer)

C) The player's ball is through the green and he removes spider webs that are attached to several branches of a tree.

D) The player taking relief under Rule 25-1b(i) drops and re-drops the ball; it rolls more than two-club lengths both times.  Before he places the ball, he removes loose impediments on and around the spot on which the ball  is to be placed

 


May 14, 2012

The Committee is a handicap stroke play competition issued scorecards with player's name, date and handicap imprinted on them.  The handicap on a competitor's card was incorrect ( 10 instead of 7).  Following the first round competition, the competitor signed and returned his card to the Committee without correcting the handicap error.  The Committee realizes its error prior to the second round of competition.  What is the ruling?

 

A) No penalty and the handicap must be corrected by the Committee

B) No penalty and the incorrect handicap stands

C) The competitor incurs the general penalty, added to his first round score

D) the competitor is disqualified (correct answer)

 


May 7, 2012

On the 13th hole, a player makes his first stroke from within the teeing ground and the ball comes to rest in a water hazard.  After surveying the situation the player decides to proceed under Rule 26-1a.  He returns to the tee and by mistake the player tees a ball in front of the tee-markers (outside the teeing ground), plays from there and that ball comes to rest in the middle of the fairway.  The player takes three more strokes to hole out.  What is the player's score for the 13th hole?

 

A) 6

B) 7

C) 8 (correct answer)

D) if the mistake is not corrected before he makes a stroke on the next tee, the player is disqualified.

 


April 30, 2012

In taking a stance the player may, without penalty

 

A) knock down the side of a bunker to get a level stance

B) do some digging in to firmly place his feet in a bunker (correct answer)

C) before kneeling to make a stroke, wrap a towel around each knee to keep his trousers dry.

D) remove pebbles with his feet from the area of his stance in a water hazard

 


April 23, 2012

A player's ball is believed to be lodged in a tree branch beyond the reach of a club.  The player swings at a lower part of the branch with a club, and the ball falls to the ground where it is identified as his.  What is the ruling?

 

A) The swing at a lower branch counts as a stroke and the player must play the ball as it lies.

B) The swing at a lower branch is NOT a stroke, the ball was actually moved by an outside agency (the branch), therefore the player incurs no penalty and the ball must be replaced.

C) The swing at a lower branch is NOT a stroke.  There is no penalty for the ball falling out of the tree; the player must declare the ball unplayable and proceed under Rule 28, incurring one penalty stroke.

D) The player incurred a one-stroke penalty under  Rule 18-2a.  Since the prescribed procedure under Rule 18-2a is not possible in these circumstances, the player must deem the ball unplayable, accept an additional penalty stroke (two total) and proceed under Rule 28. (correct answer)  

 


April 16, 2012

A player's ball lies on a gravel-covered road that Committee has not declared to be an integral part of the course.  Which of the following is an accurate description of the player's options?

 

A) He may take relief under the obstruction Rule or play the ball as it lies, removing the gravel around his ball if he wishes. (correct answer)

B) He may take relief under the obstruction Rule or play the ball as it lies, he may NOT remove gravel around his ball

C) He MUST play the ball as it lies or declare it unplayable.  If he elects to play the ball as it lies, he may NOT remove gravel around his ball.

 


April 9, 2012

In a mixed foursome in which the men play from the black tees and the women play from the forward tees, a man hits a tee shot out of bounds. How must the side proceed?

 

A) The man replays from the black tee under penalty of stroke and distance.

B) The man replays the tee shot from the forward tee under penalty of stroke and distance. 

C) The woman (partner) plays from the black tee under penalty of stroke and distancs. (Correct Answer)

D) The woman (partner) plays from the forward tee under penalty of stroke and distance. 

 


April 2, 2012

In stroke play, A played from outside the teeing ground, and his ball came to rest out of bounds.  Which one of the following is the correct ruling?

 

A) A must put another ball into play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1).  A will make his third stroke from where he last played from outside the teeing ground.

B) A must put another ball into play under penalty of stroke and distance (27-1).  He will also incur a penalty of two strokes for playing a ball from outside the teeing ground.  A will make his fifth stroke from within the teeing ground

C) Because A's ball came to rest out of bounds, he is not penalized for playing from outside the teeing ground and the stroke does not count.  A must put another ball into play under penalty of distance only from within the teeing ground.  A will make his second stroke from within the teeing ground

D) A incurred a penalty of two strokes for playing from outside the teeing ground.  The fact that his ball came to rest out of bounds was irrelevant, and the stroke itself did not count.  A will make his third stroke from within the teeing ground.

 


March 26, 2012

A part of the ball overhangs the lip of the hole,

 

A) if it falls into the hole 15 seconds after the player reaches the hole, the ball is considered hole without penalty, provided the player saw it moving after counting to 10.

B) the player is entitled to wait until he sees the ball is at rest before counting 10 seconds

C) if the ball falls into the hole 12 seconds after the stroke was made, but before the player is able to reach the hole, it is deemed to be holed with the last stroke, no penalty (correct answer)

D) the ball is deemed to be at rest when the player's ball has come to rest overhanging the hole.

 


March 19, 2012

At the last hole of a stroke-play event, A has a putt to beat B by one stroke.  A putts and B, seeing that A's ball might go into the hole, drops his (B's) putter on A's line of putt to stop the ball short of the hole.  The ball does not reach the dropped putter.  What is the ruling?

 

A) No penalty to either player

B) B incurs a two-stroke penalty for exerting influence

C) Both A and B incur a two-stroke penalty.

D) The Committee must disqualify B for a serious breach of exerting influence (correct answer)

 


March 12, 2012

A competitor changes balls on the putting green (substitutes his favorite putting ball for the original ball played from the tee), holes out with substituted ball, and plays from the next tee.  The correct ruling is that the  competitor

 

A) incurs no penalty, the procedure is not a breach of the Rules

B) incurs a one-stroke penalty

C) incurs a two-stroke penalty (correct answer)

D) is disqualified


March 5, 2012

During play of the 18th hole, which of the following areas are through the green?

 

A) the teeing ground of the 1st hole, ground under repair on the 18th fairway. (correct answer)

B) water hazards and bunkers on holes #1 through #17

C) areas surrounding the course that are out of bounds.

D) the teeing ground of the 18th hole, putting green of the 18th hole.

 


February 27, 2012

In which one of the following situations is a ball in play?

 

A) The player marks the position of and lifts his ball from the putting green, hands it to his caddie and walks to the other side of the hole to survey the line of putt.  The caddie places the ball several inches behind the ball-marker so the player can better see its location.

B) The player abandons his ball which is readily retrievable from area of casual water and drops another ball within one club-length of and not nearer the hole than the nearest point of relief. (correct answer)

C) A player lifts his ball from a cart path in order to proceed under Rule 24-2b (Immovable Obstruction; Relief)  and as he is cleaning it, accidentally drops the ball on the nearest point

D) When proceeding under penalty of stroke and distance, the player tees the ball within the teeing ground.

 


February 20, 2012

The Committee in charge of a club's weekly stroke-play competition has not established any pace of play guidelines or a modified penalty structure for pace of play.  Between play of the 9th and 10th holes, A goes to the club's parking lot and makes a phone call.  When he gets to the 10th tee, his fellow-competitors have played from the tee and are waiting for him.  The group behind arrives at the 10th tee at the same time as A.  The Committee becomes aware of the incident before A completes his round, what is the ruling?

 

A) incurs a penalty

B) incurs a one-stroke penalty

C) incurs a two-stroke penalty (correct answer)

D) is disqualified

 


February 13, 2012

No conditions of competition have been established by the Committee.  The player incurs the general penalty for playing a wrong ball when he makes a stroke at.

 

A) a favorite "putting ball" replaced on the putting green after lifting a different ball played from the tee.

B) a stray ball from within a bunker. (correct answer)

C) ball brand X when starting play of the second hole, after playing of brand Y ball on the first hole.

D) a stray ball that is moving in water in a water hazard.

 


February 6, 2012

Which one of the following is in "ground under repair?"

 

A) A ball that comes to rest on natural ice

B) A ball which is on the ground under repair line. (correct answer)

C) A ball caught up in the branch of a tree rooted outside the ground under repair which overhangs an area of ground under repair.

D) A ball that comes to rest in a pile of discarded grass clippings

 


January 30, 2012

In a single match, incorrect information becomes wrong information resulting in a loss of hole penalty in which one of the following?

 

A) A, by mistake, tells B that he (B) is not entitled relief without penalty when B's ball comes to rest on a sprinkler head.  A does not correct the mistake before B plays the ball from where it lay on the sprinkler head.

B) A tells B that he (A) took 4 strokes to complete play of the hole, when he actually took 5 strokes.  B took 6 shots to complete play of the hole.  The mistake is not corrected before both players make strokes from the next tee.

C) A's tee shot comes to rest in a water hazard and he decides to proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.  B watches the entire procedure.  A does not inform B that he (A) incurred a penalty.

D) A tells B that he took two strokes to reach the putting green when he actually taken three strokes.  A does not correct the mistake before B makes his next stroke. (correct answer)

 


January 23, 2012

A two day stroke-play competition is scheduled over two consecutive days on two different courses.  All competitors play the East Course on the first day and all the competitors play the West Course on the second day.  In the case of a tie, the play-off will be played on the West Course.  Following the first day's round, several competitors wished to get some extra practice, so they play the front nine of the East Course.  What is the ruling? The competitors who practiced on the East course:

 

A) Incur no penalty; such practice is permitted. (correct answer)

B) Incur a one-stroke penalty

C) Incur a two-stroke penalty

D) are disqualified.

 


January 16, 2012

With regard to the line of putt, which one of the following statements is TRUE?

 

A) A player may remove leaves or twigs from the line of putt by brushing them aside wit his cap or towel, provided nothing is pressed down. (correct answer)

B) In addressing his ball on the putting green, a player is prohibited from placing his club in front of the ball and touching the line of putt.

C) A player at his own discretion may remove casual water that has collected in the hole.

D) A player may brush dew off of his line of putt with his hand or club, provided nothing is pressed down.

 


January 9, 2012

A player makes a stroke and his ball is accidentally deflected by the car he is sharing with his opponent in a single match.  The opponent is driving (moving) the cart to a spot behind the putting green.  The player's ball comes to rest in the moving cart.  What is the ruling?

A) The player incurs no penalty and the player may cancel the stroke and replay or the ball must be dropped directly under the spot where it came to rest in the cart. (correct answer)

B) The player incurs a penalty of one stroke  and the ball must be replayed

C) The opponent incurs a penalty of one stroke and the player may cancel the stroke and replay or the ball may be played as it lies

D) The opponent loses the hole

 


January 2, 2012

In a match between A and B, A's ball is farther from the hole and at rest in the fairway on a par-5 hole.  After making his 2nd shot (going for the putting green in two) A's ball comes to rest in a water hazard fronting the putting green.  B then lays up short of the water with his 2nd shot.  It is B's turn to play next.

 

A) only if A plays his ball as it lies within the water hazard

B) only if A drops a ball under Rule 26-1b, keeping the point where the ball last crossed the hazard between the hole and spot where the ball is dropped, and this spot is nearer the hole than where B's ball lies.

C) only if A proceeds under Rule 26-1a (stroke and distance).

D) It is B's turn to play next, no matter which option A chooses.