2011 Rules of the Week Archive

December 26, 2011

During a single match, a dispute arises about whether A is entitled to relief without penalty from an out of bounds fence.  What MUST the players do?

 

A) Continue the match without delay.

B) Discontinue play and get a ruling from the Committee. (correct answer)

C) Agree to halve the hole and head to the next tee.

D) Decide the issue by lot (flip a coin).


December 19, 2011

During play of the 18th hole, which of the following areas are through the green?

 

A) the teeing ground of the 1st hole, ground under repair on the 18th fairway. (correct answer)

B) water hazards and bunkers on holes #1 through #17.

C) areas surrounding the course that are out of bounds.

D) the teeing ground for the 18th hole, putting green of the 18th hole.

 


December 12, 2011

In stroke play, the competitor's ball comes to rest against a rake in a greenside bunker that transitions into a lateral water hazard.  He marks the position of the ball, removes the rake, and the ball rolls into deep water in the lateral water hazard and cannot be retrieved.  The proper procedure for the player in this situation is to

 

A) replace a ball on the spot where the original ball lay, no penalty. (correct answer)

B) place a ball as near as possible to where the original ball lay, one penalty stroke.

C) drop a ball within two club-lengths of where the ball last crossed the margin of the lateral water hazard, one penalty stroke.

D) drop a ball as near as possible to where the original ball lay, two penalty strokes


December 5, 2011

The Committee MUST do which of the following?

 

A) define accurately:  the course and out of bounds, the margins of the water hazards and lateral water hazards, ground under repair, and obstructions and integral parts of the course.

B) establish the times of starting

C) announce the manner, day and time for the decision of a halved match or a tie

D) The Committee must do all of the above, A, B, & C (correct answer)

 


November 28, 2011

A player started a stipulated round with 14 clubs.  The head of his driver came off when he made a practice swing with it while waiting to play from the 5th tee.  Without penalty, the player may

 

A) repair the club himself during the stipulated round, no matter how long it takes.

B) borrow a driver that was selected for play by a fellow-competitor playing on the course.

C) replace the club (correct answer)

D) all of the above


November 21, 2011

In a match between A and B, A's ball is farthest from the hole at rest in fairway on a par-4 hole.  After making his 2nd shot which goes sideways, A believes that the ball might be lost.  He announces that he is going to play a provisional ball, and does so before B plays.  In this situation, A

 

A) has followed the correct procedure (correct answer)

B) may be required by B to immediately abandon the provisional ball, then replay it without penalty, after B plays

C) must replay the provisional ball, without penalty, after B plays his next shot.

D) loses the hole for improper procedure

 


November 14, 2011

Which one of the following is NOT the competitor's ball in play?

 

A) A ball dropped under penalty of stroke and distance, but not yet played

B) The competitor's ball that has been played by his partner in a four-ball competition. (correct answer)

C) The ball a competitor has played from outside the teeing ground when starting play of a hole.

D) A substituted ball the competitor dropped in taking relief from a cart path.


November 7, 2011

A two-day stroke-play competition is scheduled over two consecutive days on two different courses.  All competitors play the East Course on the first day and all competitors play the West Course on the second day.  In the case of a tie, the play-off will be played on the West Course.  Following the first day's round, several competitors wished to get some extra practice, so they play the front nine of the East Course.  What is the ruling?  The competitors who practiced on the  East Course:

 

A) incur no penalty; such practice is permitted (correct answer)

B) incur a one-stroke penalty

C) incur a two-stroke penalty

D) are disqualified

 


October 31, 2011

The putting green is all ground of the hole being played which is

 

A) specially prepared for putting (correct answer)

B) an area of the course that is not a hazard, teeing ground, or fairway.

C) withing 20 yards of the hole

D) cut to fringe height or less


October 24, 2011

The Committee in charge of a club's weekly stroke-play competition has not established any pace of play guidelines or a modified penalty structure for pace of play.  Between play of the 9th and 10th holes, A goes to the club's parking lot and makes a phone call.  When he gets to the 10th tee, his two fellow-competitors have played from the tee and are waiting for him.  The group behind arrives at the 10th tee at the same time as A.  The Committee becomes aware of the incident before A completes his round, what is the ruling? Competitor A

 

A) incurs no penalty

B) incurs a one-stroke

C) incurs a two-stroke penalty (correct answer)

D) is disqualified

 


October 17, 2011

In four-ball stroke play, A and B are partners.  A, who started the round with 13 clubs, damages his putter in anger after missing a short putt, changing the playing characteristics.  B started the round with 10 clubs.  B offers to share his putter with A, or lend him an extra putter from the trunk of his car.  Without penalty, A may:

 

A) share B's putter for the remainder of the round.

B) use B's putter for the remainder of the round, provided B does not use it again.

C) retrieve the extra putter from B's car and use it for the remainder of the round. (correct answer)

D) repair the damaged putter as best he can and use it only for the remainder of that stipulated round.

 


October 10, 2011

A was first to play from the fairway of a par-4 hole.  After the stroke his ball came to rest at Point  A.  B then played and his ball in motion was deflected by A's ball.  B's ball came to rest at Point B after the deflection.  A's ball was moved to Point C.  What is the ruling?

 

A) A must replace his ball at Point A.  B must play his ball as it lies at Point B. (correct answer)

B) A must replace his ball at Point A.  B has the option of playing his ball as is lies, or canceling that stroke and playing a ball without penalty as nearly as possible at the spot from which his original ball was last played.

C) A has the option of playing his ball at Point C or replacing it and playing from Point A.   B may play his ball at Point B or place it on the spot where it was deflected (Point A) and playing from there.

D) Both players must play from where their golf balls came to rest after deflection ( A at Point C; B at Point B).

 


October 3, 2011

A stroke play club championship was scheduled over three consecutive days.  The Committee has not provided in the conditions of the competition any special provisions regarding practice.  On the evening after the second round, a competitor played three holes at the club on the competition course with his daughter.  Which of the following is true?

 

A) The competitor is disqualified from the club championship. (correct answer)

B) The competitor incurs a two-stroke penalty, applied to the first hole score of his third round.

C) The competitor incurs a penalty of six strokes, applied to the first hole score of his third-round score.

D) The competitor incurs no penalty.

 


September 26, 2011

A player's ball comes to rest in the middle of a cart path.  Under Rule 24-2b (Immovable Obstruction; Relief), when taking relief from the obstruction, the player MUST

 

A) drop the original ball rather than a substituted ball. (correct answer)

B) mark the position of the ball before lifting it from the car path.

C) use a club he has selected for the round and measure the one club-length from the "nearest point of relief."

D) all of the above are requirements of the obstruction relief procedure.  

 


September 19, 2011

Which of the following statements is TRUE?

 

A) If a ball lying in casual water is accidentally moved during search, a penalty of one stroke is incurred and the ball must be replaced.

B) A ball in a hazard is covered by leaves so that it is not visible when the player addresses it.  A portion of the ball is visible from another angle.  The player may remove enough leaves to see the ball when addressing it.

C) In searching for a ball covered by leaves on the bank of a water hazard, a player may remove as many leaves as will enable him to see a part of the ball. (correct answer)

D) A player may NOT us a club to probe for a ball believed to be lying in water in a water hazard.

 


September 12, 2011

Which one of the following statements is TRUE with respect to out of bounds?

 

A) An out of bounds line extends vertically upwards, but not downwards.

B) When a boundary is defined by a wall, by definition the inside face of the wall serves as the boundary line.

C) When out of bounds is defined by a line on the ground, the line itself is out of bounds. (correct answer)

D) When out of bounds is defined by reference to stakes, the out of bounds line is determined by the outside points of the stakes at ground level.

 


September 5, 2011

The player's ball comes to rest on the putting green. An area of casual water intervenes on his line of putt.  He properly determines a nearest point of relief which happens to be in light rough through the green.  If the player takes relief, he MUST:

 

A) determine a point of relief that is on the putting green and place the ball on that spot.

B) place the ball at the nearest point of relief in the rough. (correct answer)

C) drop the ball at the nearest point of relief.

D) drop the ball within one club-length of the nearest point of relief, not nearer the hole.

 


August, 29, 2011

In a stroke play competition with no Local Rules or Conditions of the Competition in effect, a competitor is disqualified if, during the stipulated round, he

 

A) puts powder on his hands to dry them before every stroke.

B) wraps a towel around the grip of his putter

C) uses a distance-measuring device (correct answer)

D) listens to music through ear buds between strokes.

 


August 22, 2011

With respect to match play, which one of the following is TRUE?

 

A) A side is "dormie" when it is as many holes down as there are holes remaining to be played.

B) A player may concede a hole to his opponent at anytime prior to the start or conclusion of the hole. (correct answer)

C) If A and B halve the first hole in four strokes each, the match is "all even."

D) Concession of a stroke may be withdrawn if the player misunderstood the number of strokes taken.

 


August 15, 2011

The  player has NOT played a wrong ball if he makes a stroke at

 

A) his original ball that is lying out of bounds.

B) his original ball that has been lifted from the putting green and set aside.

C) a stray ball that he lifts and drops in a bunker under the Ball Unplayable Rule. (correct answer)

D) his partner's ball in play.

 


August 8, 2011

A player is entitled to relief without penalty from an artificially surfaced cart path.  He determines his nearest point of relief properly and drops Ball A (the original ball).  It first strikes a part of the course where the Rule requires, but then rolls into an adjacent lateral water hazard and cannot be retrieved.  The player drops a new ball (Ball B) properly, but it rolls to a position where the cart path again interferes with his stance.  The player MUST

 

A) place Ball B where it first struck a part of the course after being dropped and he incurs no penalty. (correct answer)

B) place Ball B where it first struck a part of the course after being dropped and he incurs two penalty strokes.

C) place Ball B where Ball A first struck a part of the course when dropped, and he incurs no penalty.

D) re-drop Ball B. 

  


August 1, 2011

A competitor incurs NO PENALTY when

 

A) he has the flagstick attended during his stroke from a bunker, provided the ball does not stike the attendee or the flagstick. (correct answer)
B) his ball, played from the putting green, strikes an unattended flagstick.

C) his ball, played from the fairway, strikes a fellow-competitor authorized by the competitor to and attending the flagstick.

D) his ball strikes the flagstick which was removed by a fellow-competitor in his group and placed on the ground prior to the stroke.

 


July 25, 2011

In a single match, incorrect information becomes wrong information resulting in a loss of hole penalty in which one of the following?

 

A) A, by mistake, tells B that he (B) is not entitled to relief without penalty when B's ball comes to rest on a sprinkler head.  A does not correct the mistake before B plays the ball from where it lay on the sprinkler head.

B) A tells B that he (A) took 4 strokes to complete play of the hole, when he actually took 5 strokes.  B took 6 strokes to complete play of the hole.  The mistake is not corrected before both players make strokes from the next tee.

C) A's tee shot comes to rest in a water hazard and he decides to proceed under penalty of stroke and distance.  B watches the entire procedure.  A does not inform B that he (A) incurred a penalty.

D) A tells B that he took two strokes to  reach the putting green when he has actually taken three strokes.  A does not correct the mistake before B makes his next stroke. (correct answer)

 


July 18, 2011

In stroke play, the competitor's tee shot comes to rest through the green on a grass bank behind a greenside bunker.  He takes his stance in the bunker to make his next stroke.  As a result of that stroke, the ball comes to rest in the same bunker, some 10 yards nearer the hole.  He rakes the area where he took his stance, proceeds to where his ball came to rest in the bunker, and plays his ball onto the green from that point.  He holes the putt and plays from the next tee.  What is the player's score for the hole?

 

A) 4

B) 5

C) 6 (correct answer)

D) The player is disqualified. 

 


July 11, 2011

A player's ball lies through the green in an area of casual water that extends onto the putting green.  When the player determines the nearest point of relief from interference for his lie, stance and area of intended swing, the puddle of casual water intervenes between this point and the hole.  When taking relief without penalty from the casual water, the player MUST

 

A) place the ball through the green at the point nearest to where the ball lies that is not nearer the hole and avoids interference from the casual water for the lie of the ball, stance, area of intended swing.

B) place the ball at the point nearest to where the ball lies that is on the putting green, not nearer the hole and avoids intervention on the line of putt.

C)  drop the ball through the green within one club-length of the nearest point of relief as originally determined, not nearer the hole. (correct answer)

D) drop the ball behind the point where the ball lay, kepping that point directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind that point the ball may be dropped.

 


July 4, 2011

A "rub of the green" has occurred when a ball

 

A) at rest is picked up by a spectator. 

B) in motion after a stroke on the putting green is deflected by a squirrel. (correct answer)

C) comes to rest in a sand-filled divot in the middle of the fairway.

D) is deflected by an opponent's golf bag after a chip shot.

 


June 27, 2011

With regard to Rule 28 (Ball Unplayable), under penalty of one stroke, the player may do all of the following EXCEPT

 

A) deem his ball unplayable anywhere on the course other than in a water hazard.

B) deem his ball unplayable in a bunker and drop a ball outside the bunker by properly employing any one of the three options articulated Rule 28. (correct answer)

C) identify his ball, which rests in a tree 8 feet off the ground and through the green, deem it unplayable and proceed under any one of the three options articulated in Rule 28.

D) be the sole judge as to whether his ball is unplayable.

 


June 20, 2011

The player incurs a penalty under Rule 16 (The Putting Green) in which of the following situations?

 

A) He repairs a damage to the putting green caused by the impact of a ball and in the process causes his ball, which is just off the putting green, to move.

B) He touches the line of putt in measuring to determine who is away.

C) He repairs damage made by a caddie in the previous group when the caddie carelessly replaced the flagstick in hole. (correct answer)

D) He makes a croquet style stroke at his ball which lies on the fringe of the putting green (through the green). 

 


June 13, 2011

While waiting to play from the 10th tee, a competitor practices putting on the nearby practice putting green.  Which of the following is correct?

 

A) He incurs no penalty. (correct answer)

B) He incurs the general penalty, applied to the 10th hole.

C) He must add two penalty strokes to his score on the 10th hole for each practice stroke taken.

D) He is disqualified if he made more than one practice stroke. 

 


June 6, 2011

In stroke play, if a competitor is doubtful of his rights or the correct procedure during the play of a hole he may, without penalty,

 

A) complete the hole with two balls.(correct answer)

B) announce the doubt to his  fellow-competitor and be protected from penalty no matter how he proceeds.

C) play a provisional ball.

D) discontinue play, return to the clubhouse and get a ruling. 

 


May 30, 2011

The player must re-drop in each of the situations below EXCEPT which one? A dropped ball rolls

 

A) onto and comes to rest on a putting green when relief was properly taken under Rule 26-1c for a ball last crossing the margin of a lateral water hazard near the putting green.

B) out of and comes to rest outside a hazard when relief was taken under Rule 25 (Abnormal Ground Conditions) for interference from casual water in a bunker.

C) to and comes to rest in a position where there is interference for the player's stance by the cart path from which relief was initially taken under Rule 24 (Obstructions) because the ball was lying on the path.

D) and comes to rest in the same location where it was deemed unplayable and relief was taken under Rule 28c (Ball Unplayable) (correct answer)

 


May 23, 2011

With regard to the line of putt, which one of the following statements is TRUE?

 

A) A player may remove leaves or twigs from the line of putt by brushing them aside with his cap or towel, provided nothing is pressed down. (correct answer)

B) In addressing his ball on the putting green, a player is prohibited from placing his club in front of the ball and touching the line of the putt.

C) A player at his own discretion may remove casual water that has collected in the hole.

D) A player may brush dew off his line of putt with his hand or club, provided nothing is pressed down.

 


May 16, 2011

While A's ball is in motion after a stroke on the putting green, B, his fellow-competitor, removes a twig from behind the hole becasue he thinks it might stop or deflect the ball.  The ball stops several inches short of the hole.  What is the ruling?

 

A) There is no penalty to either A or B.

B) Both A and B incur the general penalty.

C) A incurs a two-stroke penalty, B incurs no penalty.

D) B incurs a two-stroke penalty, A incurs no penalty. (correct answer)

 


May 9, 2011

A player makes a stroke and his ball is accidentally deflected by the cart he is sharing with his opponent in a single match.  The opponent is driving (moving) the cart to a spot behind the putting green.  The player's ball comes to rest in the moving cart.  What is the ruling?

 

A) The player incurs no penalty and the player may cancel the stroke and replay or the ball must be dropped directly under the spot where it came to rest in the cart. (correct answer)

B) The player incurs a penalty of one stroke and the ball must be replayed. 

C) The opponent incurs a penalty of one stroke and the player may cancel the stroke and replay or the ball may be played as it lies.

D) The opponent loses the hole.

 


May 2, 2011

Prior to making a stroke from the fringe of the putting green (through the green), the player incurs the general penalty if he

 

A) taps down spike marks a few feet beyond the hole. (correct answer)

B) removes sand from the putting green.

C) repairs a pitch-mark on the putting green that was created on his line of play before his ball came to rest.

D) presses down loose soil in grounding the club lightly when addressing the ball. 

 


April 25, 2011

In stroke play, A played from outside the teeing ground, and his ball came to rest our of bounds. Which of the following is the correct ruling?

 

A) A must put another ball into play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1). A will make his third stroke from where he last played from outside the teeing ground.

B) A must put another ball into play under penalty of stroke and distance (Rule 27-1). He will also incur a penalty of two strokes for playing a ball from outside the teeing ground. A will make his fifth stroke from within the teeing ground.

C) Because A's ball came to rest out of bounds, he is not penalized for playing from outside the teeing ground and the stroke does not count. A must put another ball into play under penalty of distance only from within the teeing ground. A will make his second stroke from within the teeing ground.  

D) A incurred a penalty of two strokes for playing from outside the teeing ground. The fact that his ball came to rest out of bounds was irrelevant, and the stroke itself did not count. A will make his third stroke from within the teeing ground.  (correct answer)

 


April 18, 2011

A player's caddie removes the flagstick and places it on the ground on the putting green. The player mis-hits a chip shot from the fringe and the ball is headed towards the removed flagstick which his caddie quickly lifts, allowing the ball to roll several feet beyond where the flagstick originally lay. Which of the following is TRUE?

 

A) The player incurs no penalty.

B) The player incurs the general penalty.

C) The stroke must be canceled and replayed.

D) The player incurs a penalty of disqualification for a serious breach of exerting influence on the ball.  

 


April 11, 2011

Player A has addressed his ball through the green. During the backswing, his ball moves; however, A completes the stroke. Although he did nothing to cause the ball to move prior to the stroke, which one of the following is TRUE? Player A incurs

 

A) no penalty.

B) a two-stroke penalty, the stroke counts and he must play the ball as it lies.

C) a one-stroke penalty and must cancel the stroke and replace the ball.  

D) a one-stroke penalty, the stroke counts and he must play the ball as it lies.(correct answer)

 


April 4, 2011

The player makes a stroke from the fairway and the ball comes to rest in a greenside bunker. The ball is embedded in the back of the bunker in a position where it is not possible for him to make a stroke at the ball. He deems the ball unplayable but cannot drop a ball in the bunker without going closer to the hole. Under penalty of one stroke, where must the player drop a ball when proceeding under Rule 28 (Ball Unplayable)?
 
A) In the bunker at a point which provides maximum available relief from the unplayable lie, even though that point might be slightly nearer the hole than where the ball originally lay.
B) Outside the bunker; keeping the point where the ball lies unplayable directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped with no limit to how far behind the bunker the ball may be dropped.
C) Ouside the bunker, within two club-lengths of the point where the ball lay unplayable in the bunker.
D) At the point as nearly as possible at the spot where the original ball was last played. (correct answer)

 


March 28, 2011

In a handicap match, without a refree. The players MUST

A)before starting the match, deteremine from one another their respective handicaps.

B)start at the time established by the committee (correct answer)

C)be assisted by a caddie, and they are limited to only one caddie at a time

D) know the Rules and the penalty for any breach of a Rule of Golf

 


March 21, 2011

Which one of the following is TRUE in regard to a stipulated round? 

 

(A) The holes in a stipulated round must be played in order: hole #1 thru hole #18. 

(B) In stroke play, the stipulated round may consist of 27 holes if authorized by the committee. 

(C)  If there is a tie in an 18-hole single match, the committee mus resolve the tie in a new stipulated round as they may not extend the stipulated round to more than 18 holes. 

(D)  A 36-hole match must be at least two stipulated rounds. (correct answer)

 


March 14, 2011

A ball is deemed "lost" if: 

 

(A) the player plays a provisional ball from where the original ball was last played and it comes to rest nearer the hole than where the original ball is likely to be.

(B) the player finds his ball in an unplayable lie after a three minute search.

(C) the player's first stroke from the tee comes to rest in a water hazard and a second ball is teed, but not yet played. 

(D) a new ball has been dropped under Rule 26-1b (Relief for Ball in Water Hazard) when it is virtually certain that the original ball is in a water hazard. (correct answer)

 


March 7, 2011

During the stroke and without penalty, a flagstick may be held up to indicate a target

 

(A) beyond the hole.

(B) over the line between the ball and the hole.

(C) directly over the hole. (correct answer)

(D) never, it must be moved away from the hole or line; or it must be replaced in the hole before the stroke is made to avoid penalty.

 


February 28, 2011

Which of the following is the player's "Equipment?"

 

(A) A towel carried by the player (correct answer)

(B) A tee used to mark the area in which the player will drop.

(C) A shared golf cart being moved by a fellow-competitor.

(D) The players ball in play.

 


February 21, 2011

A player addressed his ball in play. After he started the downswing for the stroke, the ball moved. He struck the ball while it was moving. What is the ruling?

 

(A) He incurs the general penalty and in stroke play must play the ball as it lies.

(B) He incurs a one stroke penalty and must play the ball as it lies.

(C) He incurs a one stroke penalty and must replace the ball.

(D) He incurs no penalty and must play the ball as it lies. (correct answer)

 


February 14, 2011

Which of the following is TRUE in regard to an attended flagstick?

 

(A) A player may have the flagstick attended ONLY for strokes made from the putting green.

(B) A player may have the flagstick attended ONLY by his caddie, an opponent, or a fellow competitor.

(C) Without penalty, a player may have the flagstick held several feet directly over the line of play at the edge of the putting green when he plays a pitch shot from a low spot. 

(D) A player incurs the general penalty if his ball played from a bunker strikes an attended flagstick. (correct answer)


February 7, 2011

An obstruction is moveable, only if

 

(A) it can be moved by the player himself

(B) the Committee declares it to be a movable obstruction

(C) an opponent or fellow competitor agree with the player that it is movable.

(D) it may be moved without unreasonable effort, without unduly delaying play and without causing damage to the course. (correct answer)


January 31, 2011

No conditions of competition have been established by the Committee. The player incurs the general penalty for playing a wrong ball when he makes a stroke at

 

(A) a favorite "putting ball" replaced on the putting green after lifting a different ball played from the tee.

(B) a stray ball from within a bunker. (correct answer)

(C) ball brand X when starting play of the second hole, after playing a brand Y ball on the first hole.

(D) a stray ball that is moving in water in a water hazard.

 


January 24, 2011

In a single match on the 5th hole, a player asks his opponent to lift his (opponent's) ball because the player considers that it might interfere with his (player's) play. The opponent says he does not want to lift his ball and does not. The player plays and the hole is halved. Before either player plays from the next teeing ground, the player makes a proper claim. What is the ruling?

  

(A) The hole stands as played (halved).

(B) The player wins the 5th hole. (correct answer)

(C) The opponent wins the 5th hole.

(D) Both players are disqualified for agreeing to waive a Rule.

 


January 17, 2011

In four-ball stroke play, A and B are partners. After driving from the 8th tee, A finds a range ball near the teeing ground. He addresses it and makes a full swing, hitting the range ball off the course to an out of bounds area. What is the ruling?

 

(A) There is no penalty to anyone because A played the practice stroke from near the teeing ground of the next hole to be played. (correct answer)

(B) There is no penalty because A hit the ball out of bounds.

(C) Both A and B must add two penalty strokes to their score for the 8th hole.

(D) A incurs a two-stroke penalty for a breach of Rule 7-2; B incurs no penalty.

 


January 10, 2011

The player incurs a penalty under Rule 16 (The Putting Green) in which one of the following?

 

(A) He repairs damage to the putting green caused by the impact of a ball and in the process causes his ball, that is just off the putting green to move.

(B) He touches the line of putt in measuring to determine who is away.

(C) He repairs damage made by a caddie in the previous group when the caddie carelessly replaced the flagstick in the hole.

(D) He makes a croquet style stroke at his ball which lies on the fringe of the putting green.

 


January 3, 2011

In which one of the following does the player incur the general penalty under under Rule 16-1?

 

(A) A competitor's ball struck the rim of a hole-liner, which had not been sunk deep enough, and bounced out of the hole. The player considered the ball holed, lifted it from the putting green surface and continued, playing from the next tee.

(B) A player removes dew from his line of putt, by brushing it away with his towel. (correct answer)

(C) A player touches the inside of the hole in repairing a ball mark from a ball that was embedded in the side of the hole.

(D) A player removes the loose soil of an ant hill from his line of putt, by brushing it aside with a towel.